A Battle against C++ and video capture

Long story short, I have in my hands a USB capture device (Hauppauge USB-live2) and I need to capture a video stream and still images.

I thought it would be a walk in the park but I couldn’t be more wrong!

Here is my approach and the reason why it failed or why it abandon it

aPPROACH ReASON
DirectShow Simple to stream a video preview but the methods to capture still images (ISampleGrabber) are deprecated…
OpenCv Cannot find the device

EDIT: after a lot of researches I manage to get ISampleGrabber and complete my battle!

If you need some example code, contact me.

This entry was posted in Computer Stuff, Windows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Battle against C++ and video capture

  1. someone999AI9 says:

    Hi, may I know more about the details of your setup? I have an external analog PAL camera. I wish to feed the analog input video signal into my computer for OpenCV processing on Ubuntu platform.

    I have been searching for the solution for long time. May I know that what type of video capture device are you using? And how’s the setup for OpenCV to read the video frame from the device?

    I appreciate your help!

    • peugas says:

      As described on my post, I’v used a Hauppauge USB-live2 to convert the analog signal.
      Unfortunately, OpenCV didn’t recognized my device and I ended up using DirectShow, which won’t help you…

  2. someone999AI9 says:

    Ok i got it. Thank you for your reply.

  3. Micka says:

    Hi, I am very interested in some sample code: mickaBA (at) gmx.de . About OpenCV: Did you try to compile OpenCV with DirectShow support?

  4. peugas says:

    I ended up using only DirectShow. OpenCV wouldn’t recognize my device…
    I’ll send you some code right away.

  5. Micka says:

    Thank you very much. I have to wait for the Hauppauge dongle to be shipped before testing your code, but thank you very very much! In the meantime I found another library: VideoInput : https://github.com/ofTheo/videoInput guess I’ll test both 🙂

    • peugas says:

      You should test as many options as possible before committing to one. You will lose some time testing but in the end if you choose the right option for your project you’ll gain a lot of time!
      Haven’t heard about VideoInput before but it seems it uses DShow underneath.

Leave a Reply

